Thursday, December 16, 2010

BITAG’s Interim Board of Directors Announced; First Board Meeting Scheduled for Next Week

I am pleased to announce the appointment of the interim board of directors for the Broadband Internet Technical Advisory Group, Inc. (BITAG).  In the past several months, we have made great progress in establishing the operational structure of the BITAG to ensure it is open, transparent, technically-focused and balanced.  Following the initial meeting of the newly-appointed directors next week, the technical experts in the Technical Working Group (TWG) can start working on the substantive issues presented to it by BITAG members, non-members and governmental organizations.

I really must thank the individuals listed below for agreeing to volunteer their time for this endeavor.  Additionally, it is wonderful that we have such a great group of people from a wide range of the Internet community. 

The interim Board will consist of the following individuals:

Jeff Blum, Echostar
Jeff Campbell, Cisco Systems
Kyle Dixon, Time Warner
Dave Farber, Carnegie Mellon University
Susan Fox, Disney
Rick Lane, News Corp.
C. Lincoln Hoewing, Verizon
Kevin Krufky, Alcatel Lucent
Brent Olson, AT&T
Marjorie Dickman, Intel
Jim Rottsolk, Microsoft
Gigi Sohn, Public Knowledge
Joe Waz, Comcast
Sally Wentworth, Internet Society
Rick Whitt, Google
and myself, Dale Hatfield, as the BITAG Executive Director and an ex-officio, nonvoting member.

No comments:

Post a Comment